“The Final Day”

Both my big kids attended separate schools this year.

Carter was fortunate enough, to be accepted into a fabulous program for children on the spectrum. It was his therapy and school combined, which meant we had to stop home therapy and move him to a different school. We knew going into this, that it was only temporary, but that doesn’t make it any easier when you’re nearing the end.

Today is the last day of the school year, for Carter.1

In September, he will return to his home school where he attended, the two previous years.

Let me just say, that I ADORE his home school ! It is not in our catchment area, but I would drive twice the distance if I had to, so that Carter and his sister could attend. We have a wonderful SERT at our home school, and Carter has been blessed with amazing teachers and EA’s. Even the principal is lovely ! I am excited for him to see his classmates again, rekindle some old friendships and attend a school where he may even get to see his sister in the hallway, from time to time.

With Carter returning to his home school, things will be a little easier on me. I’ll have one drop off and pick up location, and both kids starting and ending school at the same time. That alone will allot me an extra hour per day! (Hey, maybe that will be my “writing time?!”)

It’s just the change. The change can be hard. Taking the next step, knowing there is no going back.

Always, always wondering if we are making the right decision, every step of the way.

Of course, I know that being a parent of any child, you question every decision you make for you kid. But when you are the parent of a special needs child, all your decisions become that much harder. Every single choice you make, or don’t make, can impact them in such a significant way.

And not necessarily for the best!

I do believe though, that he is ready to take the next step. I think he has gone as far as he can, in the program he has attended this year. Lord, I hope I am right!

Carter and I spent a lot of time together in the mornings, during the 40 minutes (and only a few blocks) between the two schools. 7

At the beginning of the school year, and in the last couple of months, we played at the playground and kicked a soccer ball around. (He’s getting really good at dribbling.) During the colder months we sat in the truck and practiced his IBI goals5 together. We made up word games, watched movies on my IPhone and made silly faces at each other.

92

A lot of selfies were taken. Carter really likes the selfies! Though I guess in actuality they are not considered a “selfie”, if the picture is of him and me together, but let’s just forget that technicality.

Today, I chased him down the slide and across the field, back and forth (“tag” is his new favourite game.) I pushed him on the “blue swing,” counting 5 pushes and one11 “crazy push” at his request. I tickled his legs as he swung on the swing and emptied the sand from his shoes, before it was time to head in.

We spent our last morning together, at this school, doing the things we loved to do.     8

So it only seemed fitting, that we took our last pre-school selfie together, before Carter went in to attend his final day.

Sara Park

3 thoughts on ““The Final Day”

Leave a Reply

